Megalochori is the capital of Agistri and the largest settlement of the island, with 561 inhabitants. It is the administrative capital of the island and the seat of the Municipality of Agistri.
Megalochori is otherwise called “Mills”, from the many windmills that used to exist in the settlement. Today the only surviving windmill has been renovated and is located on the hill, at the “Mylos” Hotel. and dates from 1812.
In the past the windmills served the inhabitants of the island, supplying them with flour, with which they leavened their breads, in the traditional wood-fired ovens.
It has a natural harbor, where flying dolphins come from Piraeus and a marina for mooring and resupplying boats. Crystal clear blue waters between natural bays that create sandy areas.
The picturesque cobbled streets, the traditional houses made of stone, the tiled roofs, the white terraces, the homemade ovens, the courtyards, the cafes, the elderly figures in local costumes and the unique windmill, present with their existence the living history of place.
In Megalochori, the residential development of the island in recent years can be seen in relief, where old beautiful traditional buildings come to meet modern hotel units which, together with taverns and ouzo bars, are waiting to host and serve in the best way all of you who will visit our island.
In Megalochori, one can admire the Church of Zoodochos Pigi, a Basilica with a dome, built in 1885 from poroli, in the center of the village (1885). It is the Metropolis of the island and it is worth visiting for the remarkable Renaissance frescoes, designed by Andrianos Stamatiadis, that exist in’ she. It celebrates every year on the Friday of Diakainisimo, so there is also a big festival.
East of the Church of Zoodochos Pigi, around 150 meters, is the Church of Agios Georgios built in the 18th century, which used to be the Cathedral of the island. Of the Chapel, whose floor was paved with Maltese tiles, only its bell tower reminds of its long history.
Opposite the Chapel of Agios Georgios there is a stone tomb, in which were placed in 1814 the bones of 411 men of Mitromaras who were killed by the Turks, after the failed revolution of the Orlovs in 1772. Mitromaras was a famous charioteer and pirate whose real name was Mitros Lekkas or Mitros Dedes. The Monument of Mitromaras exists in the forecourt of Aghii Anargyroi in Skala.
Leaving Megalochori, after a 10-minute walk, and heading towards the pine forest, one comes across the beautiful chapel of Agioi Pantos, with a wonderful view towards Megalochori and Argosaronicos. It is one of the oldest churches on the island that has stood there over the years and invites the visitor to get to know the roots of the island, Kantoudi, the old village of Agistrio (Paleochori), i.e. what is left of the oldest settlement of Agistri.
From Agioi Pantes, a short path heading east leads us to the nearby church of Agioi Theodoroi.